South Africa

No EITI Status

PWYP-SA was launched in 2016 and is comprised of 11 members.

PWYP-SA provides a platform where innovators from various community organisations, civil society organisations, faith-based institutions, like-minded non-governmental organisations, progressive learning (and education institutions), research institutes and social/community leaders come together.

The overall goal of the coalition is “To ensure mandatory disclosure of financial and non-financial information across the extractives value chain is achieved.” The following principles and values form part of the PWYP-SA coalition ethos: participation; solidarity; sustainable capacity development; gender equality, equity and women’s empowerment; tolerance; transparency and accountability.

Key priority areas:
1. Full and proactive disclosure of information on socio-economic and environmental implications of proposed mining projects (mining application stage) by 2020.
2. Improved capacity of communities in local and national decision making processes to maximise their benefits from mining in their areas.
3. Buy-in of government into the need to legislate reporting standards mandating country-by-country reporting up to project level.
4. A robust; representative; empowered and highly active/visible coalition with sustainable strategies and tools to uphold transparency and accountability and community integrity across the value chain.

Key Facts

  • South Africa is the world's largest producer of: chrome, manganese, platinum, vanadium and vermiculite, and a major supplier of gold (2); coal (5); iron ore (9); nickel (5) and uranium (5), with an estimated worth of R20.3-trillion ($2.5-trillion).
  • Mining accounts for approximately 18% of the national GDP.
  • Mining companies operating in SA includes and are not limited to: Glencore Xtrata, followed by BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto and Vale; Anglo Group.

Key Contacts

  • Name: Tafadzwa Kuvheya
  • Email:
  • Telephone:


  • Centre for Applied Legal Studies at Wits University (CALS)
  • Economic Justice Network of FOCCISA (EJN)
  • Human Rights Development Initiative (HRDI)
  • Mining Affected Communities United in Action (MACUA)
  • Open Democracy Advice Centre (ODAC)
  • ONE Campaign
  • Open Society Foundations, South Africa
  • Oxfam South Africa (OZA)
  • Southern Africa Green Revolutionary Council (SAGRC)
  • Studies on Poverty and Inequality Institute (SPII)
  • Wonderkop Land Claims Committee