Africa Steering Committee

The Africa Steering Committee was originally endorsed and nominated on 27 May 2011, at the PWYP Africa Regional meeting in Kinshasa. It is an important development to ensure effectiveness and African ownership of the campaign at regional and global level.



The Steering committee is composed of representatives from African sub-regions: Eastern and Southern Africa; Central Africa; Anglophone West Africa and Francophone West Africa respectively. Added to this number are the African civil society representatives on the EITI Board and PWYP’s Programme Manager and International Director. Members’ terms are of three years.


The Steering Committee is in regular communication and convened at least twice a year, decision making is made by consensus.

Main priorities for current Africa Steering Committee

The first Africa Steering Committee of PWYP has a specific mandate to be accomplished by the next Africa Regional Meeting. The main points of this include:


Central Africa: Gilbert Maoundonodji
West Anglophone Africa: Steve Manteaw
Francophone West Africa: Taran Diallo
EITI Board members: Ali Idrissa
EITI Representative: Jean-Claude Katende
EITI Representative: Faith Nwadishi